October 13, 2008

I Believe in Columbus Day

Posted in Beer, Dating, Single Struggles at 3:36 pm by quarterandchange

But my office does not.  So, here I am, tired and annoyed that we’re working today when so many others have it off.

As of five pm on Friday I had limited weekend plans, so I was extremely pleasantly surprised when the weekend took a turn for the social.  Friday night I spent with a good girlfriend and we both ended up more, ahem, inebriated then planned.  I’m pretty sure we passed out at 11pm on her couch like kittens.  I know we woke up for a fun ride to the airport at 6am.  It’s so lovely to have a friend that you can have a heart-to-heart with and then 12 hours later have no problem telling to stop talking because any noise whatsoever hurts. 

I wish I had taken a picture of my platonic walk of shame outfit because it involved dress boots, capri sweatpants, and a t-shirt of hers.  It’s worth mentioning that I gave her a hard time for lending me a t-shirt with a giant chocolate stain on it which she promptly pointed out I created while consuming all of the Ben and Jerry’s she had in her freezer while she took a shower.

Saturday I got to meet my friend K and her adorable (beyond adorable) puppy for a good time at the Dog Park followed by a good time at Novare, which turned into a good time out at the bar watching the game with her husband and friend.  It was a completely spontaneous and fun night with lots of boy watching and great conversation.  Um, not that I actually talked to any boys, but I definitely worked on staring awkwardly at some.  I also discovered this weekend that I’m really ready to date again.  I’ve moved past the “just wanting someone to lay on me for a while” phase and into the “I’d really like someone to have brunch with” phase.

You know, after they’ve already laid on me for a while.

1 Comment »

  1. Gula said,

    It’s raining now and No spirit of Holiday in my office either.


Leave a comment